Home - Tribal leader conferred the 2016 Karma Award

Tribal leader conferred the 2016 Karma Award

In a truly inclusive gesture, the MKR Foundation has chosen an Adivasi tribal leader named Geetha Vazhachal as the second recipient of the Karma Award. Over the last few years, she has actively helped protect the forests of Athirappilly and preserve the lives and traditions of the indigenous tribes who reside there. The jury members recognize the sincerity and relevance of her efforts in fighting invasive developmental forces, encroachers and poachers from mutilating the evergreen forest, which is home to many endemic species of flora and fauna, and South India’s major green belt. In the face of global climate crises, her endeavours are all the more pivotal, and the MKR Foundation is happy to announce her as the recipient of the 2016 Karma Award.

Back to Top